Uday Salunkhe

Uday Salunkhe's Awards and Accolades

Welingkar Wins Award For Best Practice Through Technology Innovation By EBSCO

Welingkar School of Management Development and Research (WeSchool), one of the most premier Business Schools in India, has been awarded the 'Customer Success Award' for best practice through technology innovation by EBSCO in appreciation of demonstrated efforts to share successful initiatives with the community. EBSCO's customer success program identifies and felicitates various accomplishments in areas such as technology innovation, teacher collaboration, marketing initiatives, community outreach, and fundraising by its customers.

EBSCO Information Services provides research solutions comprised of research databases, e-books and e-journals to support the information and collection development needs of libraries and other institutions and to maximize the search experience for researchers and other end users in the community.
In order to cater to two thousand tech-savvy, knowledge-hungry students and teachers, Welingkar's Learning Resource Centre has subscribed to many databases including EBSCO's Business Source and Complete that covers collections from renowned institutions such as Harvard Business School which have proved to be an excellent resource to assist students and professors with their research as it collates data from across the world globe in an organized way to increase the quality of education.

Mr. Giridhar Kunkur, Head of Learning Resource Centre at Welingkar along with the Library team took several initiatives to build a strong strategy to provide a clear value proposition of fulfilling the needs of the digital-savvy user's demands. One of the many initiatives was the establishment of 'infoWE', an interactive library portal which helps access various global databases, journals and eBooks.

Welingkar had the opportunity to initiate and host 'Library Strategic Directions: Meeting the needs of 21st Century Scholar', a workshop jointly organized by University of Mumbai and Harvard Business School in order to spread the message to other educational institutes in the community, The workshop conducted by Ms. Melissa Shaffer, Director, Baker Library 3.0 Strategy and Infrastructure, HBS who spearheaded the strategic planning and infrastructure development to position Baker as a leading 21st century Knowledge & Learning Resource Center, outlined the need to design the strategy to reach out and create an action plan to make the library's role more meaningful to bring excellence to the institutions.

Delighted by the award received by EBSCO, Prof. Dr. Uday Salunkhe, Group Director, Welingkar said "Our aim is to create an information repository thus giving our students access to all type of information anytime and anywhere which will help them in knowledge enhancement by getting exposure to worldwide database. We are constantly striving to offer the best facilities to our students with our main focus being on research and innovation. We are elated that EBSCO has chosen us for this honor and we look forward to our continuous association with them to turn Welingkar's LRC into a global hub of knowledge."

Welingkar Institute of Management awarded the best B-school
of the year award

The Bangalore Management Association (BMA) conferred the Welingkar Institute of Management Development and Research with the ‘B-School of the Year Award’ on 14th August. Popularly known as ‘WeSchool’, the institute was awarded the prize in a ceremony at the Capitol Hotel, conducted by the BMA to celebrate its Member Day as well as its 62nd Anniversary Awards.  

Other notable awardees included Mr. Narayan Murthy, co-founder of IT giant Infosys, who was conferred with the BMA Lifetime Achievement award. Also present was Justice Shivraj V Patil, who was invited to be the chief guest of the occasion.

The award, which aims to encourage and reward excellence in management education, was received by Dr. Anil Rao Paila, Dean and Director of the Welingkar Institute of Management’s Bangalore Campus. The Bangalore campus is the youngest institute to receive the much coveted NBA, AIU and SAQS Accreditions and Dr. Anil Rao has been at the helm of its success.

 Welingkar – Bangalore is well known for its strong industry orientation and programs in Business Design & Innovation and E-Business. These programs are immensely helpful and are of great value to the students and working executives.  The Institute has introduced several industry-institute interactive initiatives such as We Cafe, HR Showcase that have helped the institute scale new heights. By setting up an Innovation Lab, a Prototype lab, a Case Centre and Research Centre, the institute has encouraged innovation and entrepreneurship.

Dr. Uday Salunkhe, Group Director of Welingkar, appeared jubilant and congratulated his faculty team and students for the award. Uday Salunkhe , a recipient of the prestigious Eisenhower Fellowship, is a highly awarded and recognized educationist with an unflinching belief in the power of youth and their leadership potential. He has been pivotal in developing the Welingkar brand for its industry-sync and design thinking.

This award is like a cherry on top of the recent good news that Welingkar, Mumbai was conferred with academic autonomy. This could pave the way for the institute to shape itself into a private university.

Currently, the Welingkar Institute comprises of two campuses, one in Mumbai and the second one in Bengaluru. The Mumbai campus came into existence in 1977 and comes under the aegis of S P Mandali Trust, which has the distinction of being the oldest educational trust in the country, and one that runs 43 educational Institutes.

Apart from the B School award to Welingkar Institute and the proud smile of Dr. Uday Salunke, the other highlights of the event included the Infrastructure Company of the Year Award given to Prestige Constructions and collected by Lt Col. Milan Khurana on behalf of Irfa Razack. Trustee Pradeep collected the award for the NGO of the Year on behalf of Adamya Chetana. Rajini Mishra, Chief General Manager, State Bank of India, collected the Bank of the Year Award. Ravi Gururaj from Frictionless Ventures was awarded the Serial Entrepreneur of the Year award and T Sudhakar Pai- Kurl on Enterprise Ltd was given the Innovative Manufacturer Award. KN Tilak Kumar – Deccan Herald received the Editor of the Year Award, Manjunath Vishwakarma M/s Tax Bell Ltd, UK received the Promising Global Entrepreneur of the Year Award, Mohit Hegde, Creative Infotech was given the Digital Educator of the Year award and Bhaavna Arora received the Promising Author of the Year Award.

Past awards and accolades

Introduction of Prof. Dr. Uday Salunkhe
Welingkar was always known for providing quality knowledge through its regular management programs, it was still however one among the many business schools.  It was then in 1995 that an alumnus from the institute made a choice to join his alma mater. Young and rich with relevant corporate experience and zeal to contribute, Prof. Dr. Uday Salunkhe, now Group Director at Welingkar took his first steps into the institute.

Introduction of WeSchool
Established in 1977, the Welingkar Institute of Management is among the older business schools in the country. Under the aegis of the Shikshan Prasarak Mandali, the governing Trust that nurtures 43 educational institutes and has illustrious alumni such as Former Chief Justice of India, Hon. Y V Chandrachud, who have contributed immensely to the trust and vision of Welingkar Institute.


Prof. Dr. Uday Salunkhe’s Awards  (until 2010)

  • Prof. Dharni Sinha Memorial Award for ’Excellence in Management Education‘ 2010

  • Was conferred with the prestigious MIEDA award for ‘Excellence in Education’ at the hands of the Governor of Maharashtra.


Uday Salunkhe's articles on Welingkar Blog

More Uday Salunkhe blog posts >

Media Coverage